Life Sciences Committee

The Life Sciences Committee is an LESI Industry Committee that serves as the focal point for the members of the Life Sciences industries.


The mission of the Life Sciences Committee is to promote licensing in the pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, agrobio, genetic engineering, medical diagnostics and associated industries by, inter alia, promoting networking among its members, sponsoring appropriate educational activities such as workshops, lectures, and seminars and identifying and collaborating on problem areas of concern to, and major new developments in, these industries.


The goals of the Life Sciences Committee for 2022-2023 include the following:

  • Join together Committee members from numerous national societies to share their countries' laws and licensing best practices on topics of interest in life sciences
  • Implement an Industry Advisory Board to ensure relevance in programming and activities
  • Participate in programming for workshops at the LESI Annual Conference or at other major LES Conferences
  • Secure and sponsor publications in les Nouvelles
  • Populate and maintain the Committee's page on the LESI Website
  • Support life science initiatives of the Young Members Committee
  • Support the Life Sciences Royalty Rate Surveys


Committee Leadership

Committee Co-Chairs:

National Society Liaison:

  • Thomas Adocker (LES Austria)
  • Nabil Salame (LES Arab Countries)
  • Rob McInnes (LES Australia/New Zealand)
  • Jean-Christophe Troussel (LES Benelux)
  • Fiona Nicolson (LES Britain & Ireland)
  • Renzo Puci Zurita (LES Chile)
  • Zhongqi Zhou (LES China)
  • Julien Veys (LES France)
  • Frédéric Portal (LES France)
  • Jan B. Krauss (LES Germany)
  • Eszter Szakacs (LES Hungary)
  • Sunita Sreedharan (LES India)
  • Rinaldo Plebani (LES Italy)
  • Sumiko Kobayashi (LES Japan)
  • Takeshi S. Komatani (LES Japan)
  • Kwan Jun Kim (LES Korea)
  • Dennis Tan (LES Malaysia)
  • Claudio Ulloa (LES Mexico)
  • Lynn Alcantara (LES Philippines)
  • Alexey Vakhnin (LES Russia)
  • Martin Draebye Gantzhorn (LES Scandinavia)
  • Sharon Chiang (LES Singapore)
  • Joanne van Harmelen (LES South Africa)
  • Jose-Miguel Lissen (LES Spain & Portugal)
  • Anatole Krattinger (LES Switzerland)
  • Alan Adcock (LES Thailand)
  • Murat Idal (LES Turkey)
  • Elizabeth Gildea (LES USA & Canada) [Life Science Royalty Rate Survey]
  • Karen G. Corraini (LES USA & Canada) [Programming Content]

Past Chairs:

  • Gary Keller (LES USA & Canada)
  • Hayley French (LES Britain & Ireland)
  • Julia Barnes-Weise (USA & Canada)
  • Kate Berezutskaya (LES USA/Canada)
  • Eric Victory (LES USA/Canada) 

Board Liaison and Advisors:

  • Hayley French (LESI Non-Executive Director)
Contact the Committee Co-Chairs -  Richa Pandey ( and Joanne van Harmelen (

Interested in joining this committee?  Fill out our Committee Application Form

The 2021, 2018, 2016, 2014 & 2012 Global "Life Sciences" Royalty Rates & Deal Terms Surveys are available to members here.

Committees & Community
Linked InTwitter